The laboratory council has an advisory role on all aspects of the laboratory life and workflow. It is chaired by the director of the institute and meets every first Thursday of each month. The slides used during the council, together with notes of the remarks and discussions held during the meeting, are rapidly distributed to all staff.

Composition since March 2018:

Members by right:

Lionel Mercury (director), Caroline Martel (deputy director), Mohamed Azaroual (deputy director)

College ‘researchers and faculty’:

Juan Andujar, Charles Gumiaux, Laurent Arbaret, Yan Chen, Pascale Gautret, Fabrice Muller

College ‘engineers, technicians, administrative’:

Rachel Boscardin, Olivier Gaudefroy, Esteban Le Moing

College ‘Ph.D. researchers’:

Valentin Mollé, Lalla Khadija Alaoui


The tutorship council is composed of the deputy managing director of the BRGM or his/her representative, the director of INSU-CNRS or his/her representative, the president of the University of Orléans or his/her representative. The tutorship council meets at least twice in the five-year period at the initiative of the Director of ISTO. It issues opinions on the scientific results of the research carried out, the dynamics and orientation of the projects, ISTO’s budget and investment policy, the valorization of results and strategic partnerships, and the synergy between research and education.